HelpMeFind Roses, Clematis and Peonies
Roses, Clematis and Peonies
and everything gardening related.
SocietyPlant ListPhotosReviews & CommentsEventsRatingsShows 
Royal National Rose Society (RNRS)
'Royal National Rose Society (RNRS)'  photo
Photo courtesy of Leonard and Agnes Turvey-Mace
Rose society   Listing last updated on 16 Jul 2024.
Newsletter available.
Chiswell Green
St Albans, Hertfordshire AL2 3NR
United Kingdom
01727-850461  [Information]
01727-850360  [Fax]
The RNRS went into administration on May 15, 2017:
Why British gardens are no longer a bed of roses

The Royal National Rose Society is one of the world's oldest and largest specialist plant Societies. It was founded in 1876 for all who love roses and currently has its Headquarters and display gardens* in the village of Chiswell Green just to the south of St Albans in Hertfordshire. The majority of members are UK amateur gardeners who grow roses for their own pleasure. There are also members in a great many countries across the world and many affiliated Societies mostly horticultural in nature.

Members' privileges include:The Rose Annual , back 2005 after twelve years absence, this is a modern version of our classic publication [has not been printed since 2007]. The Rose , the quarterly journal; Society handbooks; free admission to the Gardens of the Rose; free expert advisory service on all rose problems; free use of the Society's library.

* The display gardens are currently under refurbishment; the hard landscaping is nearly complete and planting of the new rose beds will start shortly. The Gardens of the Rose will be open only to members in 2006 and to the public in 2007.

1976 The Rose Annual UK.
p11. R. C. Balfour. The Centenary 1876-1976

p63. Arbel M. Aldous. The first Trial Ground of the National Rose Society was at Haywards Heath attached to the private garden of Mr. and Mrs. Courtney Page.....

1981 The Rose Annual UK.
p137. ....the top award of the President's International trophy which is given to the variety with the highest average marks at the end of three years, provided it has been considered worthy of a Gold Medal......... The next award is the Certificate of Merit, and the third level of award is the Trial Ground Certificate which is the only award which can be given at the end of the second year on trial.

[From The Makers of Heavenly Roses, by Jack Harkness, p. 26:] on 7 December, 1876, the National Rose Society was formed... the Reverend H. Honywood D'Ombrain [a driving force behind the establishment of the NRS] became Secretary... Canon S. Reynolds Hole became President...

[ibid , p. 81:] On the 4th July 1877, the Society staged its first rose show, in St. James's Hall...

[From The Rose Summer 2002 (RNRS):] At the April 2002 Annual General Meeting of the Society, Peter Beales was confirmed as President-elect for the years 2003-2005.

At the AGM in July 2006, Ann Bird became the first woman President of the Society. Ann will be at the helm during a busy and exciting time for the Society as the Gardens are rebuilt and an additional attraction, Butterfly World, is built alongside the Society's garden.

© 2024