HelpMeFind Roses, Clematis and Peonies
Roses, Clematis and Peonies
and everything gardening related.
Glossary ListGlossary Term 
County Series
A series of groundcover roses from Mattock's Roses in the UK. They include: Yorkshire (white) and Lancashire (red) -- both new introductions for 1998; 'Cambridgeshire'; 'Berkshire'; 'Kent'; 'Gwent'; 'Suffolk'; Oxfordshire'; 'Avon'; 'Sussex'; 'Northamptonshire'; 'Hertfordshire'; and 'Surrey'.
As Mattocks describes it in their 1998/1999 Catalogue, p. 4: Originally introduced to the gardening public as repeat flowering ground cover Roses, the County Series has found so many uses that it deserves the newer all-embracing description of The County Series of Universal Roses... Plant 3 feet apart. They can tolerate severe pruning (even with hedge trimmers or shears!) because they flower on the current year's growth. In order to prolong the flowering season, those varieties that set hips will require dead heading after the first flush. For more information about these roses, please see the individual varieties, or do a Search by Class/County Series to see a list of all the varieties in this series.
© 2022